Header

As many of you know, some fan emails surfaced last week from L.J. Smith about how she had been fired from writing The Vampire Diaries. You can read more on this over at Vampire-Diaries.net. Well today, Ms. Smith posted a blog post confirming the rumors. Thanks to @CrissyCalhoun and @tvdnews for the heads up on this.

First, I want to thank my readers for all their messages of support.  I’ve gotten far too many emails to answer, and I really appreciate the kindness and emotional sustenance you’ve given to me at this difficult time.

Second, if you’ve asked me a question about the future books or the endgame of The Vampire Diaries and I’ve been vague about what’s in store, I’d like to take this opportunity to apologize.  I really wasn’t  looking forward to the day when I would have to talk about this.

Third, and most importantly, I want to ask anyone who was thinking of it, not to boycott Harper’s or anyone.  It just doesn’t make sense.  Although I wanted and still want more than anything to be able to continue The Vampire Diaries series myself, there’s no point in not trying the new books.  (And remember, for fans of Bonnie and Damon, and strict Stefan and Elena fans, the immediate dynamics may be more to your liking.)  Besides which, Midnight, which is all mine, is coming out in March, and I believe there may be some of my writing in Phantom.

Thanks again to all the fans who have shown loving and loyal kindness to me.

Thanks to @Harperteen and EW for the heads up! The cover for the new Vampire Diaries Prequel Trilogy “Stefan’s Diaries Vol. 1: Origins” has been revealed!

“HarperCollins Children’s Books and Alloy Entertainment have announced that they will be releasing Stefan’s Diaries #1: Origins, the first in a planned trilogy of novels that will shed sunlight on the vampire brothers’ long, troubled history, including the Civil War-era romance that turned them against each other. The CW series, like fellow hyper-sexualized-neckbiter show True Blood, was based on a run of novels, and although it doesn’t appear that original author L. J. Smith will be penning this new trilogy, her creations have come full circle back into book form. The first entry of Stefan’s Diaries is scheduled to hit bookstores in November.”

Also, we’ve known about this new trilogy for a while, but wanted to get a little more information about the series before posted anything about it. Here are the synopses for the 3 books in the trilogy courtesy of Vampire-Diaries.net.

Vol. 1: Origins

Set during the Civil War, against a backdrop of grand estates, unimaginable riches, and deadly secrets, three teenagers in Mystic Falls, Virginia enter a torrid love triangle that will span eternity.

Brothers Stefan and Damon Salvatore are inseparable until they meet Katherine, a stunning, mysterious woman who turns their world upside down. Siblings turned rivals, the Salvatores compete for Katherine’s affection, only to discover that her sumptuous silk dresses and glittering gems hide a terrible secret: Katherine is a vampire. And she is intent on turning them into vampires so they can live together—forever.

Click “Show” to reveal the other 2 synopses, and check out Vampire-Diaries.net for more information on the series!

Spoiler Inside SelectShow

Author L.J. Smith just posted on her blog about the CW’s adaptation of her fabulous Vampire Diaries series. She shares her thoughts, concerns, and expectations of the show and hopefully puts fans’ minds at ease. Personally, I am glad to get this update from her because I have been wondering how she felt about all this.

Read the excerpt below and the full blog post is here.

-but I know the one thing on my reader’s minds, and that’s the TV pilot. (For anyone who doesn’t know, the CW picked up the pilot, so that’s one more thing to thank my angel-mother for). I couldn’t bring myself to go to the showing in L.A., but my staunch agent, Elizabeth, went to the showing in New York. She said she really loved it, and that she especially liked the bits with Stefan and Damon. I’m glad of that, because that’s the chemistry that needs to work to make it a real love triangle. She also said that she felt the chemistry between Stefan and Elena, which is, of course, just as important. Now I only have to fret about the chemistry between Damon and Elena . . . (I will worry about anything not explicitly gone over–it’s my nature). Elizabeth also said that besides Elena’s hair being changed the girl herself is rather vulnerable and accessible–two words I would never use to describe the Elena of Vampire Diaries 1. But I look at it this way: in The Awakening Elena is a bitch halfway through the book. She’s meant to be, and the book is largely about how she changes as a result of meeting Stefan. But how do you get that–and all the other action–into a two hour pilot? And not end up having the audience hate Elena for being stuck up?


 Fans Online